Temples unleash fab now video for ‘Certainty’

Great new video from our lads TEMPLES. Read the ‘In The Studio Piece’ about the forthcoming album Volcano in issue #62

Self-produced and recorded at the band’s home studio in Kettering, the track listing of the 12-track album is as follows:

  1. Certainty
  2. All Join In
  3. (I Wanna Be Your) Mirror
  4. Oh The Saviour
  5. Born Into The Sunset
  6. How Would You Like To Go
  7. Open Air
  8. In My Pocket
  9. Celebration
  10. Mystery Of Pop
  11. Roman God-Like Man
  12. Strange Or Be Forgotten


The album can be pre-ordered via the following link.


The band recently unveiled the first track to be taken from the album, ‘Certainty’, which has already racked up over half a million plays on Spotify and Soundcloud, bagged a B list on 6Music and a #1 spot on Hype Machine for three days straight.

Talking about the recently unveiled video for ‘Certainty’, director Alden Volney said: “This is based on a recurring dream I have been having since childhood about getting into a sea of plastic. So when the band approached me about doing something inspired by those JPOP videos that ooze quirkiness and eccentricity, I thought injecting the color palettes and aesthetics of Japan into this idea could be a good fit. It’s designed to feel like a fever dream you’d have after spending too much time in a Japanese dollar store”

Following their recent, very special, sold-out show at Oslo in Hackney where they played a number of new tracks, the band have announced another London show at The Electric in Brixton on Thursday 30th March 2017. Further UK shows will be announced shortly.

 Tickets for The Electric show are onsale via http://www.ticketweb.co.uk/event/XUL3003X at 10am on Friday 4th November 2016.

The band also play a show at Point Ephémère in Paris on Saturday 3rd December as part of the Rough Trade 40th anniversary weekend.

It doesn’t take too long with Volcano to realise that, while all the things that made the band special the first time around remain intact, a noticeable evolution has taken place. It’s there from the outset: the beefed-up beats of ‘Certainty’ reveal an expanded sonic firmament, one in which bright synth hooks and insistent choruses circle around each other over chord sequences that strike just the right balance between nice and queasy. “If there’s a sense of scale,” says lead singer James Bagshaw, “It was really just a result of implementing a load of things that we didn’t know about the first time around.” Co-founding member and bassist Thomas Walmsley describes a record in which “we discovered a lot as we went along, and the excitement at having done so radiates.”

One thing you do notice is that it’s harder to spot the influences this time around. It would be disingenuous to evade the psych-pop tag, for sure, but mystical language has been supplanted by something a more direct – and while those influences are still there, it’s no longer possible to pick them out. They’ve been broken down and blended together – fossilised into a single source of creative fuel, so that what you can hear this time around, sounds like nothing so much as Temples. This is the sound of a band squaring up to their potential.

Temples released their debut album, Sun Structures, in February 2014. Bagging the prestigious top spot in Rough Trade Shops Albums of the Year list, Sun Structures also charted in 18 countries, including a Top 10 spot in the UK, and became the year’s biggest-selling vinyl album in independent British record shops, with early pressings of first single ‘Shelter Song’ changing hands on Discogs for up to £150.

Less than a month after its release, the group played to a packed Shepherds Bush Empire and would later sell-out the Forum in London, make a number of festival appearances over the summer including Glastonbury, Bonnaroo, Primavera Sound and Lollapalooza and perform on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon and The Ellen DeGeneres Show.

Temples are: James Bagshaw (vocals & guitar), Tom Walmsley (bass & backing vocals), Sam Toms (drums) & Adam Smith (keys).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *