A publication put together with genuine understanding, sincerity and utter belief. We seek to end mediocrity in music magazines… to bring the scope and knowledge of old fanzines and specialist rock titles to a larger readership.

The Coral ‘Chasing The Tail Of A Dream’

New video for the single that unleashes the Hoylake’s band’s long awaited new album Distance In Between. Shindig! will talk with the guys about it in the coming issue! 




Available now as a free download from the band’s websiteChasing The Tail Of A Dream is the first taste of The Coral’s new album Distance Inbetween, the influential Hoylake five-piece’s first album of original material since 2010. The track is also available as an instant grat with the digital album pre-order.

A limited edition (1000 copies) 7 inch of Chasing The Tail Of A Dream, numbered and signed by the band and backed with new track Unforgiven, is available from the band’s site, where you can to also pre-order Distance Inbetween.

Since their debut EP release in 2001 The Coral have sold over a million UK albums, with five reaching the Top 10 including 2003’s chart-topping Magic And Medicine. Their eight Top 40 singles include ‘Dreaming Of You’, ‘In The Morning’, ‘Pass It On’, and ‘Don’t Think You’re The First’.

Recorded at Liverpool’s Parr Street Studio with co-producer Richard Turvey, Distance Inbetween was recorded live and mostly in just one take. James Skelly (vocals, guitars), Ian Skelly (drums/percussion/vocals), Nick Power (keyboard/vocals), and Paul Duffy (bass/keyboards/vocals) are joined by Coral newbie, guitarist Paul Molloy, formerly of The Zutons. The seams of each of the album’s 12-tracks are purposely rough-hewn and pave the way for a new visceral sound from a totally reenergised band.

On Distance Inbetween listeners are invited into The Coral’s world of Richard Yates’ books, Alan Moore comics, ’80s toys, the sound of krautrock compilations and Muddy Waters’ Electric Mud, and Gregory Crewdson’s darkly beautiful photography. The album is dedicated to Alan Wills, The Coral’s early mentor and Deltasonic label boss who tragically lost his life in 2014.

To coincide with the album release The Coral will head out on a UK tour, including a show at London’s O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire on 16th March. The band will then tour Europe in April before returning to their hometown to headline Liverpool Sound City Festival on 29th May.

 The Coral Distance Inbetween, track listing:

  1. Connector
  2. White Bird
  3. Chasing The Tail Of A Dream
  4. Distance Inbetween
  5. Million Eyes
  6. Miss Fortune
  7. Beyond The Sun
  8. It’s You
  9. Holy Revelation
  10. She Runs The River
  11. Fear Machine
  12. End Credits

The Coral UK & European Tour 2016:

Fri 4th March             Newcastle Riverside

Sat 5th March               Glasgow O2 ABC

Mon 7th March              Leeds Brudenell Social Club

Tues 8th March              Nottingham Rescue Rooms

Thurs 10th March           Birmingham O2 Institute2

Fri 11th March              Sheffield Leadmill

Sat 12th March              Manchester Albert Hall

Tues 15th March          Oxford O2 Academy 2

Wed 16th March             London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Weds 6th April           Paris, Le Trianon

Fri 8th April           Amsterdam Melkweg

Sat 9th April            Cologne Luxor

Sun 10th April    Hamburg Knust

Tues 12th April             Berlin Lido

Sun 29th May                Liverpool Sound City – Headline show



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Facebook Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com